Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Feature: Chasing Heartbeats by Kaitlyn Felt

Chasing Heartbeats (Chasing Heartbeats #1)Title: Chasing Heartbeats
Author: Kaitlyn Felt
Publication date: July 8th 2013

Overview
Growing up in the invisible and sparsely populated village of Livingston, Michigan, Fiona Kent used to despise her life. Every single summer had always turned out to be the same: along with babysitting her younger brothers, Logan and Tommy, the days always turned out to be long, extremely hot, and utterly boring. Just as Fiona was beginning to drown in the tiny sea that she called her world, though, lymphatic lymphoma whisked Tommy away, shoving her parents into a sheer panic and leaving Logan to lose himself in a deep depression. Shocked by her little brother’s quick and unexpected passing, Fiona suddenly feels grateful for the tall walls that separate her and her little town from the rest of the world and embraces what little innocence and naivety she has left…

Three years pass and only one photograph of Tommy can be found in Fiona Kent’s house. Though their small-minded neighbors had eventually stopped gossiping about her brother’s death, Fiona was well aware that the rest of her family had made little progress. Logan was still caught up in the dark, deathly winds of his depression and her parents acted as if Tommy had never been born at all. All of that changes, though, when Fiona discovers a black, blank-covered book in the dark, unexplored realms of her basement. Searching through the book’s yellow-tinged pages, Fiona discovers jaw-dropping letters written to Tommy by an ancient, nineteenth century prodigy known by the name of Sophia Grant. Determined to prove Sophia’s wild and accusatory predictions about her precious, deceased brother wrong, Fiona snaps Logan out of his depression, brings the mysterious book to the attention of her two best friends, and begins the unforgettable journey of a lifetime

Check out the author's website here!

Sunday, June 23, 2013

Romancing the R.A. Blog Tour


Romancing the R.A. (Campus Romance #1)
Release Date: 05/28/13

Summary from Goodreads:
Noelle Buckman is looking forward to making a fresh start in college, one that doesn’t involve immature high school boys. The second she steps on campus for freshman orientation, she can sense the possibilities. Especially when she spots Andy, a resident advisor who’s not just hot but also thoughtful enough to open doors for a girl. 

And Andy has his eye on Noelle. Even when her nerves take control and she thinks she comes off as a hillbilly with no direction, Andy can see what she’s really like and he’s more than a little interested.

But orientation is less than two full days and there’s an entire summer between Noelle and Andy. Will her attempt to romance the R.A. be as short-lived as college orientation?

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
(only $.99!)

***Excerpt***
He’s stunned at first and doesn’t move. I start to pull away, thinking I’ve made a huge mistake, but then I feel Andy’s hand on my lower back, pulling me closer. His lips part, and he deepens the kiss.

Every inch of me is on fire. Andy’s an incredible kisser, but the position we’re in is awkward. I reach my hands up and bury my fingers in his hair, which prompts him to lift me onto his lap. Much better. Our bodies are pressed so close I can feel every inch of him. My lungs are screaming for air, but I’m not willing to give in to them. I’ve been dying to kiss Andy ever since he first smiled at me, and I’ll be damned if I’m backing away that quickly.

His hands move up my back to my hair, and he pulls my head back gently exposing my neck. His lips trail down my jaw and to the nape of my neck. I bite my lip to stifle a moan, but it manages to slip out anyway. Andy slowly eases off, opening his eyes to see my reaction. I debate pulling his lips back to mine, but for the moment I drape my arms around his shoulders and just stare into his baby blue eyes.

“Wow.”

He can say that again. “Yeah.”

“I can honestly say that’s the first time I didn’t have to make the first move.”

“And it’s the first time I ever made the first move.”
           

He smiles. “Then I’m honored.” He leans forward and places a single kiss on my neck. His hips rise under me, and I know exactly where he’s hoping this is going to lead. My body is screaming for his touch, but I don’t want to be that girl. The one who goes off to college and sleeps with the first guy she meets. As much as I want Andy, I can’t do this right now.

About the Author
Ashelyn Drake is a New Adult and Young Adult romance author represented by Lauren Hammond of ADA Management. Look for her debut New Adult romance, Romancing the R.A., from S.B. Addison Books!

*Author Links*
WebsiteTwitterGoodreadsFacebook

***GIVEAWAY***

Signed Romancing the R.A. postcard and $10 gift card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble (INT)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 17, 2013

Blog Tour: Play with Me and Ryan Hunter by Piper Shelly





Title: Play With Me

Author: Piper Shelly

 
Release date: December 2012

Event organized by:
Reading Addictions Blog Tours
Overview
Ryan Hunter's parties are legend.

And tonight she's going to be there.

Liza Matthews anticipates the return of her best friend and only love since kindergarten from soccer camp. But when Tony finally shows up, his mind is more focused on another girl. And worse, she's a soccer player. Fighting for the attention Liza craves, she's just a hairbreadth away from making a very stupid decision. But when extraordinary times call for extraordinary measures, she's prepared to play ball to get her man.

The tryouts are hell, the first match ends bloody, and the morning after the selection party she wakes up in the worst place possible—in the arms of the captain of the soccer team. The hottest guy in school. Ryan Hunter.

Title: Play With Me
Author: Piper Shelly
Release date: April 2013
Event organized by:
Reading Addictions Blog Tours


Overview
Ryan Hunter kissed more girls than he cares to remember. But the only one he ever wanted is in love with his best friend.

Watching Liza Matthews’ obsession with Tony Mitchell is a torture Ryan conceals from everyone. Until after a five-week soccer camp, where Tony gets involved with someone else, things suddenly take a different turn. Ryan knows if he doesn’t make a move now and grab his chance, he might never get another.

Asked by Tony to distract Liza, Ryan is only too happy. He subtly seduces her first into his soccer team and later on to his party. He does all in his power to make her see that he’s not just an insufferable playboy but a guy who really cares about her. Some one-on-one soccer training, a passionate kiss— things seem to be going the way he wants. Except Ryan didn’t reckon on his best friend showing up at the worst possible moment and destroying everything…


Meet the fabulous author!


Wow, this is always the hardest part for me to write…don’t know why. You would think talking about my life should be easier.

I was born and raised in Austria. Half my life I spent in Vienna, but I didn’t like the city. I much prefer the beautiful countryside, with its many meadows and the breathtaking Alps. That’s why I moved to Upper Austria right after graduation. There are trees now in front of my window instead of just another ugly gray building, and I love to be woken by the cacophony of birds every morning.

At seventeen, I met the love of my life, but it took another four years until we finally got together. It was the best decision I could have made. I’m now married to this man, and I count myself lucky for someone like him. Even I will admit it can be hard at times to live with me. I’m moody and tend to lapse into my fantasy world at any given minute—well in my defense, I’m a writer. :-)

We have a ten-year-old son, and together we travel a lot…although I sometimes wish the trips were shorter because I can’t wait to get back to my laptop and WIP. Yeah, that’s just me. I built my world around my passion, and I like it that way.

So, you see, I’m leading a pretty normal life.

Of course it will all change the day my book follows the act of Harry Potter, and I’ll become richer than the Queen. I swear I’ll never again clean my windows myself then. Yeah, one day, LOL…


GET THE FIRST HALF OF THE BOOK FOR FREE:
 

GET YOUR COPY:




Thursday, June 13, 2013

Interview with author Kerry Conelly

Today, I've got a great interview with the magnificent Kerry Conelly, the author of Observation City!

Observation City

Click here to read my review!


What gave you the idea to write Observation City?

Observation City was inspired by circumstances of friends, strangers and some that I also found myself in which I wanted to try and make sense of as well as ideas and concepts which I found to be interesting. For eg: A friend was constantly asking my advice on a bad relationship and so the idea for ‘The masochist in us’ was born, whereas pieces such as ‘The Notion’ and ‘The new 27 club’ were inspired from a constant feeling of unhappiness I kept hearing from people in their 20’s. Observation City spans three concepts, that of ‘Love’, ‘Attitude’ and ‘Life’.



I heard you designed the fabulous cover for the book, is that true? How long did you work on designing it?

Yes I did design it J It took probably a good 2 weeks to truly be happy with it, mainly focusing on the colour palate.

Where do you usually spend your time writing?

I usually write from home with my laptop, notebooks, resources and cups of coffee J

Are you currently working on anything at the moment? If so, could you give us a little insight?

Absolutely, at the moment I’m working on a non-fiction novel about emotional abuse and depression called ‘Shaken’. Inspired by my own experiences with the topic it dually serves as a self-help book of sorts for those who may find themselves in the midst of an emotionally abusive situation and / or battling with depression. I also have designed the over for ‘Shaken myself which is very dear to my heart and I will be revealing it soon. ‘Shaken’ will be out in the coming months of 2013. You can join me on Facebook and my website for updates and upcoming excerpts.


What books do you enjoy reading?

I love non-fiction, memoirs, autobiographies, stories of psychology as well as captivity and survival stories and celebrity bios.

Would you recommend any books to us readers?

Oh I could recommend many J depending on what you like.

My favourite 4 books are, ‘The lovely bones’ by Alice Sebold (the only fiction on my favourites list), ‘Eat, Prey, Love’ Elizabeth Gilbert, ‘The Flock: an autobiography of a multiple personality’ Joan Frances Casey and ‘Girl. Interrupted’ Susanna Kaysen.

As far as celebrity memoirs/bios go Jenna Jameson’s book ‘How to make love like a porn star” is amazing and for books on captivity and survival I would suggest “The simple gifts of life’ –Colleen Stan and ‘3096 Days’ Natasha Kampush, both books written as the survivors account but I must warn Coleen Stan’s account is very graphic.

 Did you face any challenges when writing?

I think the biggest challenge lies within yourself, how to construct a title for the audience and how far you’d like to go with marketing it.

 If you had to describe Observation City in three words, what would they be?

Funny, relatable, inspiring.

And check out these links!
PURCHASE LINKS for Observation City on website OR VISIT

(INCLUDING FREE DELIVERY WORLD WIDE)

Observation City

Observation CityTitle: Observation City
Author: Kerry Louise Connelly
Publisher: Createspace

Overview
HAVE YOU EVER thought how much the idea of superstition could be really impacting our lives? Or the concept that we may all very well have be born with a karmic tally board of which we can accumulate and loose points on through life?
OR have you just had a rubbish chain of first dates,ever been called 'snappy', had an unattainable love or has someone ever asked to buy your knickers?

IN this often HILARIOUS and FASCINATING look into the ideas of life and the behaviours of the people in it, Kerry Connelly manages to ask questions you may never have even thought about!
FROM dead end jobs to a woman's resume and taking control of your dreams...'Observation City' has been noted as a 'Charismatic companion for a fun, interesting and highly entertaining read.'

Full of witty reflections and situations relatable to women and men alike.
'Observation City' is one light and enjoyable read.
Review
I really enjoyed this book and it was a great change from the types of books I usually read! At times, I found this book to be hilarious and at others, I found myself nodding my head along. Observation City was a great read and is completely different and original.

Observation City is basically split up into 21 pieces in 3 sections. Each section is about either love, life or attitude. I honestly have no clue how to describe this book properly or good enough but what I do know is that you should definitely read it!

The writing in the book was really engaging and had me hooked from the start. I also loved the everyday references and opinions given on them. It made the book so relatable and I find myself thinking of the book often after reading it.

I really enjoyed this and I would like to thank the author for giving me a copy. Observation City really brightened up my day and will cure and sadness!

Monday, June 10, 2013

Cover Reveal: A French Star in New York by Anna Adams


Drumroll please!

Finally, here's the cover reveal of A French Star in New York by Anna Adams!


Isn't it AMAZING? I just love it...its absolutely brilliant and a true work of art!

And here's the best part, the author was generous enough to have a giveaway! If I were you, I wouldn't want to miss this fabulous oppurtunity! So what are you waiting for? Hurry up and enter :)

a Rafflecopter giveaway