Saturday, May 25, 2013

The Library

The LibraryTitle: The Library
Author: Karen A. Wyle
Publication date: March 30th 2013

Read the book here!

Overview
Rachel has few memories of love or safety. All her short life, she found refuge in reading. Now, in the afterlife, she is shown a wonderful library, where she can curl up in comfort, and lose herself in books.

But Rachel has other choices. She could be examining the life she left, or exploring places she never had the chance to see. Can a new friend who understands her sorrow help her to leave the shelter of the library, and open herself to the people and places beyond?

The free story, set in the same afterlife as the novel Wander Home, introduces the reader to the features of this afterlife, as well as to the character Cassidy from the novel.

Review

The Library is basically a short story which gives a greater insight of the characters in the book Wander Home. The Library is mainly focused on Rachel and Cassidy. I found this short story to be quite an enjoyable read.

In The Library, Rachel goes back and relives her past memories along with her mother's sister, Dana. Dana takes Rachel to a library which is described in great detail. (I wish I could go there!). Further on in the story, Rachel has lost sight of Dana and starts to feel this pull. After awhile, Rachel sees a teenage girl and soon they get to know each other. Rachel soon finds out the girl's name is Cassidy. After this, the girls meet up frequently and start to warm up to each other. What I liked most was how well the dialogues were written and how their friendship gradually formed over time.


You can see my review of Wander Home here!

Friday, May 24, 2013

Merch girl

Merch GirlTitle: Merch Girl
Author: Rebecca Lewis
Publication date: May 4th 2013

Overview
 Seventeen-year-old Lacey Kind doesn’t have the guts to talk to cute boys, isn’t a size two, and would rather stay home and listen to music than go to a party. But in the summer before her first year of college, she ends up thousands of miles away from home, in the back of a tour bus, underneath the half-naked body of the hottest teen rock star in the country.

When Lacey and her best friend Trina sneak into a Boston nightclub to see their favorite band, they not only get to watch their rock gods perform for the first time, but score a chance to meet the band too. Lacey’s heart races as she comes face-to-face with her idol, nineteen-year-old lead singer, Logan Shire.

The girls charm their way into being hired to sell merchandise on Lansdowne’s first summer tour. As “merch girls” Lacey and Trina quickly find themselves transported from their ordinary, suburban life to an exhilarating few months on the road. But they soon realize that life on the road isn’t always a smooth ride...

Review

Merch Girl is a story of two best friends who get to go on tour with their favorite band, Lansdowne. The girls were lucky enough to meet the band members at a party but not only have they caught the attention of the band memebers, they have been given an oppurtunity to sell merchandise as they go on tour with the band. Now who would past that up? *sighs* I really wish this could happen to me hehehe.

Lacey is the main character of the story. She is basically the older, seventeen year old version of me. She's shy but sweet and her best friend is Trina. The story is told in Lacey's POV which worked very well with the story and the many characters.

I loved how Rebecca Lewis didn't make the book predictable and how their lives weren't all that fabulous just cause they were on tour. Also, I liked that she projected a different perception of rockstars, showing that not all rockstars are what they seem.

The story is mainly focused on Lacey's and Logan's relationship. Logan is the lead singer of the band and is nineteen years old. I liked how the story gradually let up to thier relationship and that it wasn't just an easy love. Lacey had to fight the jealousy of fans and had to deal with the fact that their relationship couldn't go public.

Between all the sneaked kisses and the heart felt conversations, time on tour is coming to an end. What will happen to their relationship? Will they ever see each other again? Between all he crazy fans, will Logan stay true to Lacey?

I truly enjoyed the book. The only thing stoping me from giving it a 5 star was that I felt the story was kinda rushed and their reactions to certain situations were a bit childish. However, the characters did mature through out the book and I enjoyed seeing the changes they went through.

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Stripped

StrippedTitle: Stripped
Author: Brooklyn Skye
Publication date: May 14th 2013

Overview
College freshman Quinn Montgomery will do anything to avoid the mistake her sister made—killing herself over a boy. But when she is forced into nude modeling at a local college to support her family after a bankruptcy, she begins to crack, just enough to let Torrin, the university’s top varsity oarsman, see that the real Quinn is not as feisty and unapproachable as she wants everyone to think. But letting someone in comes at a steep cost and, it turns out, Torrin is connected to Quinn’s family in more ways than she could ever imagine.

“I like you.” His voice is low and soft, which I don’t deserve. I look away, down the rutted parking lot.
“Don’t... waste those words on me.”
He touches my cheek. “You just need someone to show you.”
“No.” I ease back again. “I don’t. So please, Torrin, stop trying to swoop in and save me. I don’t need saving.”

Review

I don't know where to start but I guess if I had to sum it up....WOW, just wow. I was so absorbed into this book that I read it all in one sitting! The synopsis of this book had me intruiged from the start but the book is definitely way better than the description!

Stripped is about two people with damaged pasts and hidden secrets. Now this may sound a little similar to other books but it's not. Let me tell you, Stripped was very different from other books I've read and left me wondering and thinking about it days after I finished reading it. It took me so long to be able to write a review and even this is not good enough to describe the book itself. You have to read it yourself to live the true experience!

"Mom hadn't told me losing my only sister would be like losing a part of me, the part which made me feel like everything in life would be okay."

Quinn is dealing with the loss of her older sister and belives that her sister killed herself because of her boyfriend. Because of this, Quinn promises herself to never fall in love so she won't end up like her sister. Quinn was actually really easy to relate to and was a very great and interesting character. The way Brooklyn wrote the book allows the reader to connect to Quinn on a much more emotional level.

Torrin was a very sweet guy who always looked out for Quinn and teased her constantly. The scenes between the two of them were at times steamy or just plain cute! However, Torrin and Quinn have secrets but under all those secrets, they share one devastating fact. This fact will either ruin them or just prove that love can withstand everything.

The ending was really unexpected and I actually teared cause of it. Stripped was a very enjoyable read and gave me a great look on life. The fact that the book dealt with suicide but still managed to keep me interested was really amazing as I usually try to avoid these kind of books. Brooklyn Skye is a very talented writer and Stripped is a great addition to the lists of amazing books I've read and to the overall NA genre.

Friday, May 17, 2013

Once Upon a Tag

Once Upon a TagTitle: Once Upon a Tag (short story)
Author: Anna Adams
Publication date: April 23rd 2013

Overview
When David, a young French painter, unexpectedly meets Rita, an infamous Parisian street artist, his convictions are shaken to the core during a night he is unlikely to ever forget.

Review
Absolutely adored this book! Short but very intriguing, Once Upon a Tag will change your perspective of art and will be a very enjoyable read.

David and Rita are both two very different people with two very different perspectives on art.

"One a.m. Twenty minutes, forty-six seconds, in the Parisian subway.
That’s when David Leblanc saw her for the first time."

David is basically the more sensible of the two and is the complete opposite of Rita. Rita is famous for her art works across Paris and is known as the "masked menace" for her so called vandalism.

I must say that fate has really funny ways in messing with people's lives and in this case, David and Rita's. Over the course of the book, many twists occur and David starts to see what lies behind Rita's 'artworks'. But once again, fate interrupts and the book ends with a cliffhanger!

Once Upon a Tag is a very promising book that really left me thinking. I was sucked into the story very easily and, throughout the book, the story flowed continuously well. I wish it was longer, I just couldn't get enough of it! Crossing my fingers for a sequel!

Wednesday, May 01, 2013

Arc review: You Are Mine by Janeal Falor

Title: You Are Mine (Mine #1)
Author: Janeal Falor
Publication date: May 6th 2013

Overview
Serena knows a few simple things. She will always be owned by a warlock. She will never have freedom. She will always do what her warlock wishes, regardless of how inane, frivolous, or cruel it is. And if she doesn’t follow the rules, she will be tarnished. Spelled to be bald, inked, and barren for the rest of her life—worth less than the shadow she casts.

Then her ownership is won by a barbarian from another country. With the uncertainty that comes from belonging to a new warlock, Serena questions if being tarnished is really worse than being owned by a barbarian, and tempts fate by breaking the rules. When he looks the other way instead of punishing her, she discovers a new world. The more she ventures into the forbidden, the more she learns of love and a freedom just out of reach. Serena longs for both. But in a society where women are only ever property, hoping for more could be deadly

Review
Spectacular and well written, You Are Mine by Janeal Falor is a very intriguing story which had me hooked from the start. This book was certainly different and creative, throughout the entire book, I had no clue what was going to happen next. I couldn't even predict the romance! I usually can tell the romance part of the story very well as I read plenty of romance stories but for once, I was left dumbstruck.

The book takes place in a society where women have no choice but to obey men and where they are sold to men to be used as slaves and to satisfy them. Usually, the more magic they have in their blood, the higher chance they have of being sold.

Serena, the main character of the story, has just been tested and has been found to have a large amount of magic within her blood. She is quickly sold to a man by the name of Thomas. However, as the story unfolds, Serena discovers that her life can quickly change within seconds. After a battle and the death of Thomas, she is now owned by Zade.

Zade is from the Envandi, a group of people who come from a different society and are though bad of by many. However, Zade is different, and Serena isn't quite sure what to think of it and how to act around him. Furthermore, she's putting her sisters' lives in danger as well as herself as she tries to find a way to be free. The only problem is, if she is caught, she will have no choice but to be tarnished.

The romance in this book was very simple, sweet and short but it left me breathless and questioning the motives of certain characters. Mix in some past lovers and you've got yourselves a mysterious and sizzling romance.

Janeal Falor can sure write. This book was absolutely oringinal and unforgettable. It contained the perfect amount of romance and excitement to keep me reading on. The start is a little confusing but trust me, keep reading on and you'll love it.