Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Aversion by Kenechi Udogu

Title: Aversion
Author: Kenechi Udogu
Overview
For Gemma Green’s first time, things should have been straightforward. Find your subject, hold their gaze and push a thought into their head to save them from future disaster – Aversion complete. A pretty simple process given that the subject was to have no recollection of the experience. But Russ Tanner doesn’t seem to want to forget. In fact the more she tries to avoid him, the more he pushes to get to know her. Gemma knows she has a problem but is she facing the side effects of a failed Aversion or has the school’s tennis champ really fallen for her?

Review
I really got into the feel of reading this book. It got me hooked from the start and I felt the characters were great and well thought out. Plus, there's forbidden love and sort of a mysterious feel which helped create excitement to the book.

The main character Gemma, was one I adored. She is a risk taker but knows the difference between idiocy and bravery. She puts people's lives before herself and never gives up hope. She does things to the best she can. Now enter Russ. He's a really sweet character and is kinda curious. He's also smart enough to not fal for Gemma's story. He knows something is going on.

The plot of the book was unique and different. In the book, there are people called averters who can choose the path for a person's life. The target does not remember anything afterwards. However, with Russ, he seems to remember something and won't leave Gemma alone. Top it all off, Gemma feels this pull to him as well. Together, they try to find out what this all means.

Overall, Aversion was a great read that was really original. It was light, but not so much.Aversion kept me reading and reading once I started. It was really interesting.

Arabelle's Shadows by Fleur Gaskin

Title: Arabelle's Shadows
Author: Fleur Gaskin
Overview
Everything in Arabelle's life is coming together. She has confidence, great friends, she's even dating Naak, a wealthy Thai socialite. But there are too many models in Bangkok. Arabelle’s broke, she can’t find an agent in New York, and Naak isn’t as wonderful as he first appears. Slowly the Shadows creep back into Arabelle’s mind, bringing with them thoughts of hopelessness and despair. The vile Shadows know something Arabelle’s refusing to remember and, if she’s not careful, they’ll use it to destroy her. Based on a true story, Arabelle’s Shadows takes us on a journey through the struggles of growing up, not quite making it as an international model, and attempting to overcome a crushing depression.

Review
I loved the writing style of this book. It was very different from other common books I've read and helped broden my horizons. Also, I always thought being a model would be like living the life but after reading this book, I relised its not all perfect and I guess everything has its own flaws.

This is a book about a person's struggles and the depression they go through during their life. Arabelle wants to be an actress but meanwhile, she tries to hit it big with modelling. So far, she hasn't gotten any major success and later on we find out that there are voices in her head telling her horrid things such as her not being worthy of love. In this book, we get to see Arabelle struggle through her depression and keep it under control. There were times where we had glimpses of hope when certain scenes were happy and I just really wanted everything to turn out right for her. Whether it did or not, you will have to read and find out! I loved the friends and people she met, as well as the places she visited all over Asia and Europe, it kinda makes me want to travel around the world.

I really enjoyed the book, it is quite inspiring and really brings out the reality in the world today. However, at times, I found it was quite hard to keep up with the dates as the book is written as a journal. Also, there were just a little too many names for me to remember. Overall, a very deep and emotional book which I will be thinking of for quite some time.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Cover Reveal for Fracture the Spider's Web




Kali unexpectedly discovers on her first day of human high school that she’s forbidden to eat or partake of the toilet during class time, the assigned history and species books look best on the shelves of popular fiction, and the boy she’s watching over is definitely a reincarnated war lord.

The highest powers of Kali’s people and the highest powers of Yuuhi’s people, irreconcilable enemies, designated them to find proof that Jason is, in fact, the reincarnated Ares.

All Yuuhi sees in Jason is the typical scrawny, socially inept emo kid dressed in conflicting shades of black. But Kali sees that Jason’s shadow is bigger than he is, and if the powers of Yuuhi’s people find out, Jason won’t be human much longer.

The desire to protect him from an unexpected visitor brings out her most dangerous sides. Something’s changing in her, something she can’t control, and she’s not afraid of Jason mutating into a creature of the shadows more than she’s afraid she’s becoming something even worse.

And the highest powers will be watching her.





Monday, August 19, 2013

Steel Lily Blog Tour


17828413Title: Steel Lily
Author: Megan Curd
Genre: Dystopian
Blurb:

AVERY PIKE is a commodity. No, more than a commodity. Her existence is guarded at all costs.

She’s a water Elementalist, the strongest of her dwindling kind. She creates steam to provide energy to fuel Dome Three: the only thing standing between humanity and an earth ravaged by World War III. No steam, no Dome. No Dome, no life.

Or so she thinks.

That is, until a mysterious man offers her a way out of having to donate steam. A way to escape the corrupt government of Dome Three. While the offer seems too good to be true, Avery is intrigued.

But when she arrives to her new home, she realizes the grass isn’t any less dead on this side of the fence. Instead, the lies are just hidden better.

…Which means digging deeper.

When Avery enlists the help of her friends to uncover the truth, it may make her wonder if she was better off being a government tool than searching for freedom.

Some secrets are better left concealed, but humankind was never meant to live in a cage. And when you can control the most sought after resource, you can learn to control anything…including the fate of your world.

Book Links

Click here to see my review! (I absolutely loved this!!!)

BIO: Megan Curd is a graduate of Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota. While having always enjoyed reading any books she could get her hands on, Megan didn’t begin writing until a friend encouraged her to do so while in college.

When not writing, Megan enjoys spending time with her family and friends. She loves to snowboard and travel to new places, and doesn’t turn down the opportunity to play xBox with her brother and friends when it presents itself.

Megan currently resides in Stanton, Kentucky with her husband, son, and Great Dane named Dozer.

LINKS:

EXCERPTS:


#1:
The Polatzi woman’s broad body blocked the view of my intended hallway. Her hands were on her hips, and her piercing gaze felt as if it might actually impale me.
Do they teach that death stare to every Polatzi, or is this woman particularly nasty?
“Avery Pike?”
I jutted my chin in the air. “Who’s asking?”
“You were off the grid last night.”
“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”
I pushed past her before she could say more and felt the smooth fabric of her cape slap my legs as I passed. Fiery anger consumed me, but I kept my expression neutral. Damn Polatzi. They gave me nothing but unanswered questions and a lice-ridden bed at an overcapacity orphanage, yet expected me to revere them. Providing steam–being an asset they couldn’t get rid of–gave me immunity to the Polatzi as long as I didn’t do anything stupid.
Like skipping class and going to see Alice during a night of sweeps.
Yeah, that would fall under the category of life-threateningly stupid, which was a couple notches above incredibly stupid.


#2:
I’d never seen anyone like him in Dome Four. His jawbone was strong, his cheekbones set high. His nose was regal and straight and when my gaze reached his eyes, my breath caught. Stormy blue-grey eyes that reminded me of shale returned my gaze with seemingly genuine curiosity, if not a bit of humor. Strips of colored fabric were woven into his dreadlocked hair, giving it a wildly unique appearance that suited him. His smug expression made me realize he was enjoying this.
“Are you finished checking me out? If you’re not, that’s okay; I allow every new woman I meet a free five-minute gawking period. After that, it’ll cost you.”
Blood rushed to my face. I tore my eyes from his magnetic gaze and watched as he took a worn leather strap off his wrist. He pulled back his dreadlocks–deep brown streaked with blonde–into the strap. His devilish grin pulled his eyes tight at the corners. He was trouble incarnate. Trouble I may very well want to get into, given the right circumstances.
“You’re at five minutes and thirty seconds now,” he said in a purr as he leaned in toward me. I felt his breath against my cheek, and my heart raced. “I’m going to start taking payment, and I choose how that payment is issued.”
Before I could respond, Alice stirred groggily beside me. She rubbed her eyes as she sat up. “Where are we?”
“Good question,” piped Jaxon. “One that your friend here failed to ask, but it could have been because I rendered her speechless with my good looks.”
Alice moved to get a better look at him, but he emphatically covered his face, as though he were a vampire trying to block the sun. “Don’t look at me!” he cried, then grinned as he winked at me. “I don’t want to make two ladies swoon in such a short period of time. How would I entertain myself tonight?”
“You’re not that handsome,” I argued mulishly.
“There’s drool on your chin. Either you’re physically unable to keep your mouth shut, or I caused you to forget how. Since when I found you, you were drool free, I’m going with the assumption that it was me.” He fished in his pocket and offered me a piece of white silk. “Here, a handkerchief for your trouble.”


#3:
I was moving double time to keep up with his long strides. He seemed so sure of himself, so in control of his destiny, even in this place, where he claimed we were imprisoned. I didn’t have a shred of doubt that what Jaxon wanted, Jaxon got. He owned his life. I so desperately wanted to own mine as well. Could he help me take control of it, or would he cause it to crash around my feet? For some reason, it felt like either option would be exhilarating if he were involved.
Exhilarating and dangerous.
The back of his shirt was soaked. The small “v” of muscles at the base of his spine flexed as he craned his neck to make sure I was still behind him. Why did that give me butterflies?
He turned and smiled. “Are you even listening to me? You’re way past your ogling allotment.”
“I’m not ogling you.”
“Trust me, I’ve experienced enough ogling to know it when I see it. If you’d prefer to ogle in peace, I’ll turn around again. There have been contests where my ass took first place in squeezability.”
“You must have been the only person in the running.”
He grinned mischievously. “And the only one to vote, but a win is still a win, right?”


#4:
Out of nowhere, his breath ran like warm water over the back of my neck. I closed my eyes for a moment, then forced them back open. No. Not Jaxon. Nothing for Jaxon.
“Now it’s Mr. Pierce, eh?” He put one of his large hands at the small of my back to lead me toward Xander’s office. “I think I’m going backwards.”
“You are backwards, Jaxon.”
He laughed and muscled around me, sliding far too much of his toned body against me as he moved past. His chiseled chest pressed against mine as he leaned in, inches from my mouth. I sucked in a breath to avoid his scent. No dice. It still overpowered me. His smile was evident even in the low light, and I bit my lip to keep from sighing. His hand brushed my cheek, and he ran a finger down the side of my neck, sending shivers through me. “If I were backwards, I’d be Noxaj,” he whispered huskily. “What kind of name is that? It’s not sexy at all.”
“I never said you were sexy,” I whispered as his hands roved through my hair at the base of my neck.
“No, no you didn’t…” His lips were on my neck. His hands worked down my back.
I stood there like a wet noodle, incapable of responding.
Do something! Touch him back! my brain screamed, but my body felt detached. Do something, or he’s going to think you’re on the relationship short bus.
He pulled away to search my eyes, but for what, I didn’t know.
I willed myself to give him something. Anything. An awkward grin, accompanied by a cough was all I could muster. Really, Avery? Seriously? I knew later replays of this moment in my mind, no matter how awful, wouldn’t compare to the actual event.

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 15, 2013

ReadWave Writing Challenges

ReadWave has launched a new hub dedicated to weekly writing challenges. The weekly challenges are designed to inspire you with writing prompts, and to motivate you to sit down and write at least once a week.
ReadWave is a place for writers to share articles and short stories with the world, and is now home to tens of thousands of stories which are collectively read over 200,000 times each month.


Go here to enter: www.readwave.com
And check out these other links!

facebook.com/readwave

twitter.com/readwave

This week's challenge is here! Go enter now :)
Good luck to everyone!

Saturday, August 03, 2013

New England Rocks by Christina Courtenay

New England Rocks
Title: New England Rocks
Author: Christina Courtenay
Expected publication: August 7th 2013 by Choc Lit


Overview

When Rain Mackenzie is expelled from her British boarding school, she can t believe her bad luck. Not only is she forced to move to New England, USA, she s also sent to the local high school, as a punishment.Rain makes it her mission to dislike everything about Northbrooke High, but what she doesn t bank on is meeting Jesse Devlin Jesse is the hottest guy Rain s ever seen and he plays guitar in an awesome rock band!There s just one small problem Jesse already has a girlfriend, little miss perfect Amber Lawrence, who looks set to cause trouble as Rain and Jesse grow closer.But, what does it matter? New England sucks anyway, and Rain doesn t plan on sticking around Does she?

Review
I really like the cover of this book and judging from the descriptions of the characters, I'm going to go ahead and assume that's Rain Mackenzie (one of the main characters). The other main character is Jesse Devlin who is basically the hottest guy Rain has ever set her eyes on and is also a tattoo covered soccer player who is even part of a rock band (bad boy alert heheh)!

The book starts off with Rain getting kicked out of her boarding school after being caught breaking the rules. Her family and her then move to the
USA where she has been enrolled in a local public school. Rain doesn't plan on sticking around long so she doesn't bother to make friends, even though she catches the eyes of a few guys. But then she can't seem to control the feelings she has around Jesse and the ways he makes her blush. But there's just one problem, Jesse has a girlfriend.

Jesse Devlin has got the girl that every guy in the entire school wants yet he can't help but feel something for Rain. He feels this connection that he doesn't even have with Amber Lawrence (his current girlfriend). No matter, Rain and Jesse seem to get closer and closer throughout the book and Jesse reveals secrets to Rain that he doesn't even tell to his own friends.

I liked the idea of the story but to me, the characters and plot seemed predictable. Also, I felt the author did a great job to Jesse's story but I wished it was a little more in depth. Overall, the book was a very quick and light read. My favorite part of the book would actually be the lyrics that Rain wrote. If you read this book, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about - absolutely spectacular lyrics with great meanings and emotions laced within.
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Dance in Shadow and Whisper by Sarah Godfrey & Victoria DeRubeis

Title: Dance in Shadow and Whisper
Authors: Sarah Godfrey & Victoria DeRubeis
Published: June 19th 2013

Overview

Kali unexpectedly discovers on her first day of human high school that she’s forbidden to eat or partake of the toilet during class time, the assigned history and species books look best on the shelves of popular fiction, and the boy she’s watching over is definitely a reincarnated war lord.

The highest powers of Kali’s people and the highest powers of Yuuhi’s people, irreconcilable enemies, designated them to find proof that Jason is, in fact, the reincarnated Ares.

All Yuuhi sees in Jason is the typical scrawny, socially inept emo kid dressed in conflicting shades of black. But Kali sees that Jason’s shadow is bigger than he is, and if the powers of Yuuhi’s people find out, Jason won’t be human much longer.

The desire to protect him from an unexpected visitor brings out her most dangerous sides. Something’s changing in her, something she can’t control, and she’s not afraid of Jason mutating into a creature of the shadows more than she’s afraid she’s becoming something even worse.

And the highest powers will be watching her.
                                                 
Excerpt:

My chest tightened with a deep breath of preparation. I stared at the front door handle, simple brass and weathered from its once gossamer brilliance, the tread of my boots planted against the new carpet, the back of my neck tingling with sweat.
This whole mission was a joke.
I was the joke.
There must have been so many others much more capable than me, others who could handle the foreign outside world. Damn it, I was lucky if I could handle silencing an incoming call on my brother’s cellular telephone gadget.
The doorbell chimed. A disarming melody lulled throughout the house but echoed shrilly in my brain.
It was too late now.
My arm lifted, but my moist palm stopped just short of the sweeping grin of the handle when I saw how my fingers quivered. I hadn’t noticed until then.
There was no reason to be afraid—concerned, perhaps, for my personal wellbeing, but afraid? No. Certainly not. If I had to, I could hole-punch this guy through the chest with my fist if he gave me the right justification.
My fingers clamped the cool handle and twisted. The door popped open. The fresh, crisp light of early morning flooded the hallway.
There he stood, the embodiment of my fear and apprehension and sweaty palms. He stood nearly half a foot over me, tall for something that had once been human, but his skin was so white that he could pass more for a glow stick than any human I’d ever seen. His eyebrows raised above the rims of his aviator sunglasses as he regarded me with eyes so sinister and evil and diabolical that I couldn’t see them behind the mirror lenses.
He must have been sensitive to sunlight.
Odd.
“Kali?” he asked.
My lungs bloated with another deep breath
                                                 *****
Review

The moment I saw that cover I had a very good feeling about this book, and guess what? I was right! Dance in Shadow and Whisper had me hooked from the start and I read the entire book all in one sitting!
The book was very original considering that I've never read a book involving demons. The authors Sarah and Victoria were such a great joy to work with, be sure to stop by their blog and enter the giveaway!

The characters in this book really stood out for me. I felt that each and every one of them had been thought out carefully and each one was unique. The main character of this book is Kali, who is a demon sent out to prove that Jason is the reincarnated Ares. At first, Yuuhi (a vampire), does not believe and thinks nothing of Jason but after a while, signs start showing and Kali knows that if Jason really is the reincarnation of Ares, then she must protect him from Yuuhi and his people from transforming Jason into a vampire and causing havoc in the world.

But what's this? There's a twist to this plot, there is another reincarnation, a reincarnation of Amon. Now Kali and the others have to find out who this is, before Soloran (Kali's sister who turned vampire demon) can get her hands on who that is. But Kali can't seem to hurt her sister and there's something strange about the whole situation... Why did her sister turn Vampire demon? What does her sister want with her? And why is Kali starting to care about Jason?

In a world where demons and vampires exist, this story will start to unfold and will suck you right in. Dance in Shadow and Whisper is easily the best book I have been asked to review so far. I can't wait for the release of the next book. Dance in Shadow and Whisper is far different from your stereo-typical vampire book, it's so much more.


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Website
B&N

Interview and AMAZING giveaway!


Meet Sarah and Victoria, the two talented authors of Dance in Shadow and Whisper :)
  Sarah GodfreyVictoria DeRubeis


Sarah and Victoria run the writing help blog Keyboard Smash Writers on both Tumblr and Blogspot and are the authors of the YA urban fantasy “Marionettes of Myth” and NA “Monsters of Myth” companion series.

The two became friends through the early days of AOL chat rooms and Sailor Moon roleplay. They only officially met when Victoria came down from Pennsylvania to attend Sarah’s high school graduation in 2006, which was when the two crashed together upon first meeting in the airport and fell to the floor for everyone to see. Suffice to say Sarah and Victoria’s faces were very red.

Sharing two halves of the same mind has made writing together easier than writing separately, and when characters do things that ruin the lives of the authors, the sympathetic shoulder to cry on helps. Sort of.

Sarah and Victoria have a penchant for characters that supersede gender roles and expectations, and also characters of diverse backgrounds and cultures. Mythology of the world is a guaranteed way to get their salivation glands going.

Their ultimate dream is to make readers suffer as they have at the hands of their characters.

Interview Time!

1. How do you feel being interviewed?
Sarah: I could talk ENDLESSLY about these characters, hours upon hours (and we have!). I pretty much vibrate with excitement – but interviews in real life is a guaranteed way to turn my face bright red!

Victoria: I don’t think I’ve ever been interviewed before the book came out! This is really strange, because it makes me feel like I’m important, but like Sarah said, we love to talk about our characters.

2. How did writing ‘Dance in Shadow and Whisper’ come about?
Sarah: The initial idea came to me when I was a sophomore in high school and trying my hardest not to pay attention during class. I was a huge fan of Amelia Atwater-Rhodes at the time and I’d been writing nothing but high fantasy. I decided to write my first urban fantasy and switch up a lot of my usual tropes and play around with character types that I’d never touched before, and by junior year, I finished the first version of what was then a trilogy. Two years later, I rewrote it and added another book. Five years later, I started writing it again, and Victoria and I are making it even bigger.

Victoria: Originally the “Monsters” and “Marionettes” series were two completely separate stories with different ideas. Their combination wasn’t really something intentional at first, just cameos of one another’s characters that we slipped into the stories for giggles. And then it spiraled completely out of control, which made DiSaW and everything else completely different.


3. The characters in this book had really unique and interesting names, any reasons why?
Sarah: In expanding Pittsburgh into a supernatural metropolis, we took inspiration from the big cultural melting pots like New York and Los Angeles. My home base is LA, and one of the most defining characteristics of where I grew up is how I could walk down the pathway of my high school during lunch and every table would be speaking another language. We took this concept and merged it with the cultures from other species in the story, and because of that, the name of every character is theirs for a very specific reason!


4. Do any of the characters remind you of yourself?
Sarah: The characters that Victoria and I play definitely boast little facets of our personalities. Yuuhi’s gender fluidity, Jason’s introversion, and, heck, even Toivo’s marked city driver tendencies.

Victoria: Yeah, it’s not so easy to say that there is one specific character in the stories that reflect us. They have pieces of us, and I think that we identify with all of them in one way or another.


5. When do you think the next book will be released? Any clues or hints as to what awaits us? (hehehe really excited)
Sarah: Oh man, we’re really excited too, and we’ve been working as fast as we can. The whole thing is already finished, and so far, I’ve revised the first draft. Victoria’s in the midst of her read-through so we can revise again, and then it’s off to our critique partners. The new cover is already about 80% done already! So, we’re aiming for August, September at the latest.

Victoria: You won’t get any spoilers out of us, but suffice to say you’re going to get a lot more laughs and tears, because I’m still crying and giggling as I’m rereading the second book.


6. I read that both of you designed that spectacular cover, which by the way looks totally professional and amazing :) How long did you spend on designing the cover?
Sarah: I’m so glad, thank you! The initial concept of the cover came to me in pieces. I wanted to utilize my strengths, so I focused on what I could do best (like way vibrant colors – I love me some bright colors).

We were lucky in that we had a trip planned for Pittsburgh, so I took my camera and we got some awesome shots of the city (and outside the city) to use for future covers as well. We were also lucky because stormy weather gave us some of the coolest cloud formations. All in all, I’d say the cover took a few days of tweaking and fixing. The most agonizing part was drawing out the letters, which I’ve had to do for the second cover as well. Ugh! It’s such a trial of patience!

Victoria:  Yeah, the covers, the poster art, the bookmarks, they are all Sarah’s babies, birthed into this world by her sweat. She’s the artist, and we’re so lucky to have that, because look at that freaking cover. It’s fantastic.

Sarah: (Psst, Victoria’s biased.)


7. Do you have any favorite books or authors? What books are you reading now?
Sarah: I owe a lot of where I am today as a writer to Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Jonathan Stroud, Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, Tolkien, Margaret Peterson, and Gary Paulsen (the first book I actually asked to read was “The Hatchet”).

One book I have is called “End the Silence”, given to me by my grandmother, which is a story about a concentration camp that the Japanese military had in Indonesia during WWII. My grandmother’s story is very much the same to this one. Other books I’ve been waffling on are “The Glass Throne”, “The Fifth Wave”, and “Etiquette and Espionage” (Gail Carriger is one of Victoria’s faves).

Victoria: I do love me some Gail Carriger. Her Parasol Protectorate series, the characters give me so many feels, and I gush to Sarah all the time. She’s basically read the books, just because I tell her every detail. Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson series, I can’t go a month without checking when the next book will be out. The hardest part is working in a bookstore! Oh my gosh, I can see them in our big receiving room and I cannot has until the release date, even if it’s only an hour before midnight of the official day.

My TBR list gets bigger every day, but I’m also working on “Etiquette and Espionage” as well as “The Ocean at the End of the Lane”, “Daughter of Blood”, and “Johannes Cabal the Detective”.


8. What was the hardest part of writing the book?
Sarah: Ah! It’s a spoiler! Readers will definitely know what the hardest part was, though. I still get teary-eyed when I reread. Guh, it was so hard!

Victoria: Every time I randomly open the book, it’s guaranteed I’ll open to that part! Not to mention Sarah has written this book so many times, and I’ve read it so many times, and we love it to pieces. Sprucing it up for other eyes is like releasing a child into the wilderness. It’s scary!


9. Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks or hardcovers when reading?
Sarah: I’m definitely a visual person, which means I love to cradle physical books to my bosom and inspect the details in the art – but I read ebooks way faster, and I’m a pacing fiend, so my favorite books are the ones I can gobble up. I treasure my ereader and I’d never go back.

Victoria: I agree, I love my ereader. As nice as it is to have the actual books, and I still buy hardcovers for my absolute favorites, I’d much rather buy the ebook. Last year Sarah and I took an environmental science class, and now all I can think about is how many trees are saved by ebooks. It’s a problem.

Sarah: It’s a real problem.


10. Describe ‘Dance in Shadow and Whisper’ in 3 words.
Sarah: Secrets. Sacrifice. Savior.

Victoria: I can’t possibly do any better than that!

Sarah: Uh! Copout!

Giveaway!

Check out what's for grabs:

    





Thursday, July 18, 2013

Official Frigid Trailer Release

For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn’t anything new. They’d been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the ‘man’ in man-whore. He’s never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn’t want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.

Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she’s perfect and she’s everything. But the feelings he has for her, he’s always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they’re stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor’easter, there’s nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one.

BUY THE BOOK HERE :)




Bio
# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.




 And enter this contest for a chance to win an ARC of FRIGID and many more!


Saturday, July 13, 2013

Cover Reveal : The Promise



What does it mean to be a human?
Lily Larkin is about to find out when on what should have been a day of great happiness, she is diagnosed with a rare and unbelievable disease.  She is shrinking, possibly without limit.
As her life starts to spin out of control and the world starts to grow around her at an uncontrollable rate she is forced to confront her greatest fear - losing the man whom she loved from the moment she saw him.  Can they stay together even though she feels her humanity slipping away?  Can she trust him with her secret and, as her disease progresses, her safety and even her life?  Can she trust herself?
A bittersweet story of love and loss, The Promise is a YA Paranormal Fantasy that will have you questioning the meaning of your own humanity and the weighing of trust against love.
What will Lily choose?
What would you choose?
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png

Loveeeee the cover, and I'm so excited for the release. From past experience, Oath of Servitude which you can find info on here was amazing and therefore, I would recommend readers to try out this author's books :) Check out my review ----> here <---->

Rush Blog tour and giveaway










Release
Date: June 11, 2013

Publisher:
Harper Teen



Summary
from Goodreads:

So what’s the game now? This, or the life I used to
know?



When Miki Jones is pulled from her life, pulled through time and space into
some kind of game—her carefully controlled life spirals into chaos. In the
game, she and a team of other teens are sent on missions to eliminate the Drau,
terrifying and beautiful alien creatures. There are no practice runs, no
training, and no way out. Miki has only the guidance of secretive but
maddeningly attractive team leader Jackson Tate, who says the game isn’t really
a game, that what Miki and her new teammates do now determines their survival,
and the survival of every other person on this planet. She laughs. He doesn’t.
And then the game takes a deadly and terrifying turn.





Available from:


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg  photo 111AD205-AA04-4F9E-A0F4-C1264C4E9F30-1855-000001A1E8CEB6D7_zps9b730b94.jpg   photo KoboIcon_zps515cdc1a.jpg


Teaser #1:

He
smiles, a faint curve of his lips that reveals the barest hint of a long dimple
carved in his right cheek. “No, but I can read your expression. And I’ve been
doing this long enough that I know what most people tend to think when they
first open their eyes.”

“Doing
what long enough?”

“This,”
he says, and nothing more.

A
second of silence stretches into two. Though I can’t see behind his glasses, I
have the feeling he’s not looking at me anymore, that he’s scanning the area,
looking for…something. But as I stare at him, I see me—tiny distorted reflections of me in the shiny, convex
lenses.



Copyright © 2013. Eve Silver. All Rights Reserved.




Teaser
#2:

I
stare at the things in front of me: the Drau. I can’t look away.

Somewhere
in the back of my mind, I remember Jackson talking about Medusa.

Don’t look at
their eyes.

Their
mercury eyes.

They’re
poison.

They
will kill me.

Copyright
© 2013. Eve Silver. All Rights Reserved.





Teaser
#3:

Color
and sound explode, too bright, too loud. Even the air on my skin feels like
it’s too much. My fingers go lax. The bag’s handle slides down my palm, then
along my fingers to the tips, impossibly slow. The world tips and tilts and I
flail for balance.

Luka
grabs my hand and holds tight.

I
blink. My house, my open front door, Dad, they’re all gone. My breath comes in
short gasps and every muscle in my body feels like it’s knotted up tight.

I’m
standing in a grassy clearing bounded by trees.

The
lobby.

We’ve
been pulled.


Copyright
© 2013. Eve Silver. All Rights Reserved.












About the Author
Eve Silver lives with
her gamer husband and sons, sometimes in Canada, but often in worlds she dreams
up. She loves kayaking and sunshine, dogs and desserts, and books, lots and
lots of books. Watch for the first book in Eve’s new teen series, THE GAME: RUSH,
coming from Katherine Tegen Books, June 2013. She also writes books for adults.



Author Links:


     


***GIVEAWAY***

Signed copy of Rush, US and Canada only.







Hosted by: