Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Aversion by Kenechi Udogu

Title: Aversion
Author: Kenechi Udogu
Overview
For Gemma Green’s first time, things should have been straightforward. Find your subject, hold their gaze and push a thought into their head to save them from future disaster – Aversion complete. A pretty simple process given that the subject was to have no recollection of the experience. But Russ Tanner doesn’t seem to want to forget. In fact the more she tries to avoid him, the more he pushes to get to know her. Gemma knows she has a problem but is she facing the side effects of a failed Aversion or has the school’s tennis champ really fallen for her?

Review
I really got into the feel of reading this book. It got me hooked from the start and I felt the characters were great and well thought out. Plus, there's forbidden love and sort of a mysterious feel which helped create excitement to the book.

The main character Gemma, was one I adored. She is a risk taker but knows the difference between idiocy and bravery. She puts people's lives before herself and never gives up hope. She does things to the best she can. Now enter Russ. He's a really sweet character and is kinda curious. He's also smart enough to not fal for Gemma's story. He knows something is going on.

The plot of the book was unique and different. In the book, there are people called averters who can choose the path for a person's life. The target does not remember anything afterwards. However, with Russ, he seems to remember something and won't leave Gemma alone. Top it all off, Gemma feels this pull to him as well. Together, they try to find out what this all means.

Overall, Aversion was a great read that was really original. It was light, but not so much.Aversion kept me reading and reading once I started. It was really interesting.

Arabelle's Shadows by Fleur Gaskin

Title: Arabelle's Shadows
Author: Fleur Gaskin
Overview
Everything in Arabelle's life is coming together. She has confidence, great friends, she's even dating Naak, a wealthy Thai socialite. But there are too many models in Bangkok. Arabelle’s broke, she can’t find an agent in New York, and Naak isn’t as wonderful as he first appears. Slowly the Shadows creep back into Arabelle’s mind, bringing with them thoughts of hopelessness and despair. The vile Shadows know something Arabelle’s refusing to remember and, if she’s not careful, they’ll use it to destroy her. Based on a true story, Arabelle’s Shadows takes us on a journey through the struggles of growing up, not quite making it as an international model, and attempting to overcome a crushing depression.

Review
I loved the writing style of this book. It was very different from other common books I've read and helped broden my horizons. Also, I always thought being a model would be like living the life but after reading this book, I relised its not all perfect and I guess everything has its own flaws.

This is a book about a person's struggles and the depression they go through during their life. Arabelle wants to be an actress but meanwhile, she tries to hit it big with modelling. So far, she hasn't gotten any major success and later on we find out that there are voices in her head telling her horrid things such as her not being worthy of love. In this book, we get to see Arabelle struggle through her depression and keep it under control. There were times where we had glimpses of hope when certain scenes were happy and I just really wanted everything to turn out right for her. Whether it did or not, you will have to read and find out! I loved the friends and people she met, as well as the places she visited all over Asia and Europe, it kinda makes me want to travel around the world.

I really enjoyed the book, it is quite inspiring and really brings out the reality in the world today. However, at times, I found it was quite hard to keep up with the dates as the book is written as a journal. Also, there were just a little too many names for me to remember. Overall, a very deep and emotional book which I will be thinking of for quite some time.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Cover Reveal for Fracture the Spider's Web




Kali unexpectedly discovers on her first day of human high school that she’s forbidden to eat or partake of the toilet during class time, the assigned history and species books look best on the shelves of popular fiction, and the boy she’s watching over is definitely a reincarnated war lord.

The highest powers of Kali’s people and the highest powers of Yuuhi’s people, irreconcilable enemies, designated them to find proof that Jason is, in fact, the reincarnated Ares.

All Yuuhi sees in Jason is the typical scrawny, socially inept emo kid dressed in conflicting shades of black. But Kali sees that Jason’s shadow is bigger than he is, and if the powers of Yuuhi’s people find out, Jason won’t be human much longer.

The desire to protect him from an unexpected visitor brings out her most dangerous sides. Something’s changing in her, something she can’t control, and she’s not afraid of Jason mutating into a creature of the shadows more than she’s afraid she’s becoming something even worse.

And the highest powers will be watching her.





Monday, August 19, 2013

Steel Lily Blog Tour


17828413Title: Steel Lily
Author: Megan Curd
Genre: Dystopian
Blurb:

AVERY PIKE is a commodity. No, more than a commodity. Her existence is guarded at all costs.

She’s a water Elementalist, the strongest of her dwindling kind. She creates steam to provide energy to fuel Dome Three: the only thing standing between humanity and an earth ravaged by World War III. No steam, no Dome. No Dome, no life.

Or so she thinks.

That is, until a mysterious man offers her a way out of having to donate steam. A way to escape the corrupt government of Dome Three. While the offer seems too good to be true, Avery is intrigued.

But when she arrives to her new home, she realizes the grass isn’t any less dead on this side of the fence. Instead, the lies are just hidden better.

…Which means digging deeper.

When Avery enlists the help of her friends to uncover the truth, it may make her wonder if she was better off being a government tool than searching for freedom.

Some secrets are better left concealed, but humankind was never meant to live in a cage. And when you can control the most sought after resource, you can learn to control anything…including the fate of your world.

Book Links

Click here to see my review! (I absolutely loved this!!!)

BIO: Megan Curd is a graduate of Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota. While having always enjoyed reading any books she could get her hands on, Megan didn’t begin writing until a friend encouraged her to do so while in college.

When not writing, Megan enjoys spending time with her family and friends. She loves to snowboard and travel to new places, and doesn’t turn down the opportunity to play xBox with her brother and friends when it presents itself.

Megan currently resides in Stanton, Kentucky with her husband, son, and Great Dane named Dozer.

LINKS:

EXCERPTS:


#1:
The Polatzi woman’s broad body blocked the view of my intended hallway. Her hands were on her hips, and her piercing gaze felt as if it might actually impale me.
Do they teach that death stare to every Polatzi, or is this woman particularly nasty?
“Avery Pike?”
I jutted my chin in the air. “Who’s asking?”
“You were off the grid last night.”
“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”
I pushed past her before she could say more and felt the smooth fabric of her cape slap my legs as I passed. Fiery anger consumed me, but I kept my expression neutral. Damn Polatzi. They gave me nothing but unanswered questions and a lice-ridden bed at an overcapacity orphanage, yet expected me to revere them. Providing steam–being an asset they couldn’t get rid of–gave me immunity to the Polatzi as long as I didn’t do anything stupid.
Like skipping class and going to see Alice during a night of sweeps.
Yeah, that would fall under the category of life-threateningly stupid, which was a couple notches above incredibly stupid.


#2:
I’d never seen anyone like him in Dome Four. His jawbone was strong, his cheekbones set high. His nose was regal and straight and when my gaze reached his eyes, my breath caught. Stormy blue-grey eyes that reminded me of shale returned my gaze with seemingly genuine curiosity, if not a bit of humor. Strips of colored fabric were woven into his dreadlocked hair, giving it a wildly unique appearance that suited him. His smug expression made me realize he was enjoying this.
“Are you finished checking me out? If you’re not, that’s okay; I allow every new woman I meet a free five-minute gawking period. After that, it’ll cost you.”
Blood rushed to my face. I tore my eyes from his magnetic gaze and watched as he took a worn leather strap off his wrist. He pulled back his dreadlocks–deep brown streaked with blonde–into the strap. His devilish grin pulled his eyes tight at the corners. He was trouble incarnate. Trouble I may very well want to get into, given the right circumstances.
“You’re at five minutes and thirty seconds now,” he said in a purr as he leaned in toward me. I felt his breath against my cheek, and my heart raced. “I’m going to start taking payment, and I choose how that payment is issued.”
Before I could respond, Alice stirred groggily beside me. She rubbed her eyes as she sat up. “Where are we?”
“Good question,” piped Jaxon. “One that your friend here failed to ask, but it could have been because I rendered her speechless with my good looks.”
Alice moved to get a better look at him, but he emphatically covered his face, as though he were a vampire trying to block the sun. “Don’t look at me!” he cried, then grinned as he winked at me. “I don’t want to make two ladies swoon in such a short period of time. How would I entertain myself tonight?”
“You’re not that handsome,” I argued mulishly.
“There’s drool on your chin. Either you’re physically unable to keep your mouth shut, or I caused you to forget how. Since when I found you, you were drool free, I’m going with the assumption that it was me.” He fished in his pocket and offered me a piece of white silk. “Here, a handkerchief for your trouble.”


#3:
I was moving double time to keep up with his long strides. He seemed so sure of himself, so in control of his destiny, even in this place, where he claimed we were imprisoned. I didn’t have a shred of doubt that what Jaxon wanted, Jaxon got. He owned his life. I so desperately wanted to own mine as well. Could he help me take control of it, or would he cause it to crash around my feet? For some reason, it felt like either option would be exhilarating if he were involved.
Exhilarating and dangerous.
The back of his shirt was soaked. The small “v” of muscles at the base of his spine flexed as he craned his neck to make sure I was still behind him. Why did that give me butterflies?
He turned and smiled. “Are you even listening to me? You’re way past your ogling allotment.”
“I’m not ogling you.”
“Trust me, I’ve experienced enough ogling to know it when I see it. If you’d prefer to ogle in peace, I’ll turn around again. There have been contests where my ass took first place in squeezability.”
“You must have been the only person in the running.”
He grinned mischievously. “And the only one to vote, but a win is still a win, right?”


#4:
Out of nowhere, his breath ran like warm water over the back of my neck. I closed my eyes for a moment, then forced them back open. No. Not Jaxon. Nothing for Jaxon.
“Now it’s Mr. Pierce, eh?” He put one of his large hands at the small of my back to lead me toward Xander’s office. “I think I’m going backwards.”
“You are backwards, Jaxon.”
He laughed and muscled around me, sliding far too much of his toned body against me as he moved past. His chiseled chest pressed against mine as he leaned in, inches from my mouth. I sucked in a breath to avoid his scent. No dice. It still overpowered me. His smile was evident even in the low light, and I bit my lip to keep from sighing. His hand brushed my cheek, and he ran a finger down the side of my neck, sending shivers through me. “If I were backwards, I’d be Noxaj,” he whispered huskily. “What kind of name is that? It’s not sexy at all.”
“I never said you were sexy,” I whispered as his hands roved through my hair at the base of my neck.
“No, no you didn’t…” His lips were on my neck. His hands worked down my back.
I stood there like a wet noodle, incapable of responding.
Do something! Touch him back! my brain screamed, but my body felt detached. Do something, or he’s going to think you’re on the relationship short bus.
He pulled away to search my eyes, but for what, I didn’t know.
I willed myself to give him something. Anything. An awkward grin, accompanied by a cough was all I could muster. Really, Avery? Seriously? I knew later replays of this moment in my mind, no matter how awful, wouldn’t compare to the actual event.

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, August 15, 2013

ReadWave Writing Challenges

ReadWave has launched a new hub dedicated to weekly writing challenges. The weekly challenges are designed to inspire you with writing prompts, and to motivate you to sit down and write at least once a week.
ReadWave is a place for writers to share articles and short stories with the world, and is now home to tens of thousands of stories which are collectively read over 200,000 times each month.


Go here to enter: www.readwave.com
And check out these other links!

facebook.com/readwave

twitter.com/readwave

This week's challenge is here! Go enter now :)
Good luck to everyone!

Saturday, August 03, 2013

New England Rocks by Christina Courtenay

New England Rocks
Title: New England Rocks
Author: Christina Courtenay
Expected publication: August 7th 2013 by Choc Lit


Overview

When Rain Mackenzie is expelled from her British boarding school, she can t believe her bad luck. Not only is she forced to move to New England, USA, she s also sent to the local high school, as a punishment.Rain makes it her mission to dislike everything about Northbrooke High, but what she doesn t bank on is meeting Jesse Devlin Jesse is the hottest guy Rain s ever seen and he plays guitar in an awesome rock band!There s just one small problem Jesse already has a girlfriend, little miss perfect Amber Lawrence, who looks set to cause trouble as Rain and Jesse grow closer.But, what does it matter? New England sucks anyway, and Rain doesn t plan on sticking around Does she?

Review
I really like the cover of this book and judging from the descriptions of the characters, I'm going to go ahead and assume that's Rain Mackenzie (one of the main characters). The other main character is Jesse Devlin who is basically the hottest guy Rain has ever set her eyes on and is also a tattoo covered soccer player who is even part of a rock band (bad boy alert heheh)!

The book starts off with Rain getting kicked out of her boarding school after being caught breaking the rules. Her family and her then move to the
USA where she has been enrolled in a local public school. Rain doesn't plan on sticking around long so she doesn't bother to make friends, even though she catches the eyes of a few guys. But then she can't seem to control the feelings she has around Jesse and the ways he makes her blush. But there's just one problem, Jesse has a girlfriend.

Jesse Devlin has got the girl that every guy in the entire school wants yet he can't help but feel something for Rain. He feels this connection that he doesn't even have with Amber Lawrence (his current girlfriend). No matter, Rain and Jesse seem to get closer and closer throughout the book and Jesse reveals secrets to Rain that he doesn't even tell to his own friends.

I liked the idea of the story but to me, the characters and plot seemed predictable. Also, I felt the author did a great job to Jesse's story but I wished it was a little more in depth. Overall, the book was a very quick and light read. My favorite part of the book would actually be the lyrics that Rain wrote. If you read this book, you'll know exactly what I'm talking about - absolutely spectacular lyrics with great meanings and emotions laced within.
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Dance in Shadow and Whisper by Sarah Godfrey & Victoria DeRubeis

Title: Dance in Shadow and Whisper
Authors: Sarah Godfrey & Victoria DeRubeis
Published: June 19th 2013

Overview

Kali unexpectedly discovers on her first day of human high school that she’s forbidden to eat or partake of the toilet during class time, the assigned history and species books look best on the shelves of popular fiction, and the boy she’s watching over is definitely a reincarnated war lord.

The highest powers of Kali’s people and the highest powers of Yuuhi’s people, irreconcilable enemies, designated them to find proof that Jason is, in fact, the reincarnated Ares.

All Yuuhi sees in Jason is the typical scrawny, socially inept emo kid dressed in conflicting shades of black. But Kali sees that Jason’s shadow is bigger than he is, and if the powers of Yuuhi’s people find out, Jason won’t be human much longer.

The desire to protect him from an unexpected visitor brings out her most dangerous sides. Something’s changing in her, something she can’t control, and she’s not afraid of Jason mutating into a creature of the shadows more than she’s afraid she’s becoming something even worse.

And the highest powers will be watching her.
                                                 
Excerpt:

My chest tightened with a deep breath of preparation. I stared at the front door handle, simple brass and weathered from its once gossamer brilliance, the tread of my boots planted against the new carpet, the back of my neck tingling with sweat.
This whole mission was a joke.
I was the joke.
There must have been so many others much more capable than me, others who could handle the foreign outside world. Damn it, I was lucky if I could handle silencing an incoming call on my brother’s cellular telephone gadget.
The doorbell chimed. A disarming melody lulled throughout the house but echoed shrilly in my brain.
It was too late now.
My arm lifted, but my moist palm stopped just short of the sweeping grin of the handle when I saw how my fingers quivered. I hadn’t noticed until then.
There was no reason to be afraid—concerned, perhaps, for my personal wellbeing, but afraid? No. Certainly not. If I had to, I could hole-punch this guy through the chest with my fist if he gave me the right justification.
My fingers clamped the cool handle and twisted. The door popped open. The fresh, crisp light of early morning flooded the hallway.
There he stood, the embodiment of my fear and apprehension and sweaty palms. He stood nearly half a foot over me, tall for something that had once been human, but his skin was so white that he could pass more for a glow stick than any human I’d ever seen. His eyebrows raised above the rims of his aviator sunglasses as he regarded me with eyes so sinister and evil and diabolical that I couldn’t see them behind the mirror lenses.
He must have been sensitive to sunlight.
Odd.
“Kali?” he asked.
My lungs bloated with another deep breath
                                                 *****
Review

The moment I saw that cover I had a very good feeling about this book, and guess what? I was right! Dance in Shadow and Whisper had me hooked from the start and I read the entire book all in one sitting!
The book was very original considering that I've never read a book involving demons. The authors Sarah and Victoria were such a great joy to work with, be sure to stop by their blog and enter the giveaway!

The characters in this book really stood out for me. I felt that each and every one of them had been thought out carefully and each one was unique. The main character of this book is Kali, who is a demon sent out to prove that Jason is the reincarnated Ares. At first, Yuuhi (a vampire), does not believe and thinks nothing of Jason but after a while, signs start showing and Kali knows that if Jason really is the reincarnation of Ares, then she must protect him from Yuuhi and his people from transforming Jason into a vampire and causing havoc in the world.

But what's this? There's a twist to this plot, there is another reincarnation, a reincarnation of Amon. Now Kali and the others have to find out who this is, before Soloran (Kali's sister who turned vampire demon) can get her hands on who that is. But Kali can't seem to hurt her sister and there's something strange about the whole situation... Why did her sister turn Vampire demon? What does her sister want with her? And why is Kali starting to care about Jason?

In a world where demons and vampires exist, this story will start to unfold and will suck you right in. Dance in Shadow and Whisper is easily the best book I have been asked to review so far. I can't wait for the release of the next book. Dance in Shadow and Whisper is far different from your stereo-typical vampire book, it's so much more.


 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png  photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Website
B&N